Knitting Knights

Beyond the Sounds of ABC

By Denise Eide
Illustrated by Ingrid Hess

Winner of the 2017 Moonbeam Children's Book Awards Gold Medal for Reading Skills/Literacy!

Listen, giggle, laugh, and learn!

The single letters of the alphabet do not tell the whole story of English. Forty-eight letter teams, called multi-letter phonograms, work together to make specific sounds in English words. When children learn all the sounds made by each phonogram, they take a giant leap toward becoming strong readers and spellers.

With its playful text and lively illustrations, Knitting Knights builds on the single-letter phonograms introduced in Doodling Dragons: An ABC Book of Sounds and Whistling Whales: Beyond the Sounds of ABC to introduce children to twenty-seven more multi-letter phonograms.

Did you know?

  • OO makes three sounds: raccoon, cooks, and door
  • EY makes two sounds: they, key

Learning all the phonograms used regularly in English words and all the sounds they represent helps children lay a strong foundation for reading and spelling success throughout life.

The phonograms introduced in Knitting Knights are taught in level C of our Foundations curriculum. The remaining twenty-one multi-letter phonograms and the single-letter phonograms are taught in Foundations A and B. Together, these 74 basic phonograms make up 98% of English words! Use Knitting Knights to explore the sounds of each new phonogram as you teach it in Foundations C, or to introduce these key building blocks of English to any young child.

From Denise Eide, author of Uncovering the Logic of English, and artist Ingrid Hess, this playful introduction to the multi-letter phonograms opens the door for children to hear, say, recognize, and read these foundational building blocks of English words.

Hardcover; 60 pages.


Sample Pages


Login Form